What is NATA?

The National Association of Testing Authorities, Australia (NATA) is the national organisation for conformity assessment of technical operations such as laboratories, inspection bodies, proficiency testing scheme providers and reference material producers. 

NATA offers an extensive accreditation service.Accreditation of testing and calibration facilities represents NATA’s largest accreditation activity with over 2500 sites holding accreditation, including a number of facilities located overseas.

 The following ISO or industry standards describe the general requirements facilities seeking accreditation (or recognition in the case of GLP) must comply with:

  • ISO 15189 Human pathology                      
  • ISO/IEC 17020 Inspection 
  • ISO/IEC 17025 Testing and calibration
  • ISO 17034 Producers of certified reference materials 
  • ISO/IEC 17043 Proficiency testing scheme providers 


What is 15189?

 ISO 15189 specifies requirements for quality and competence in medical laboratories.ISO 15189 can be used by medical laboratories in developing their quality management systems and assessing their own competence. It can also be used for confirming or recognizing the competence of medical laboratories by laboratory customers, regulating authorities and accreditation bodies.

ISO Professionals offers a range of services relevant to ISO 15189, ISO 17025 and NATA accreditation.  


Your Next Steps

Please contact us for more information.

We’re happy to answer any questions you might have, or provide an obligation-free quote.